Beta
×

Welcome to the Slashdot Beta site -- learn more here. Use the link in the footer or click here to return to the Classic version of Slashdot.

Thank you!

Before you choose to head back to the Classic look of the site, we'd appreciate it if you share your thoughts on the Beta; your feedback is what drives our ongoing development.

Beta is different and we value you taking the time to try it out. Please take a look at the changes we've made in Beta and  learn more about it. Thanks for reading, and for making the site better!

Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx Benchmarked and Reviewed

timothy posted more than 4 years ago | from the pretty-snazzy dept.

Software 164

tc6669 writes "Tom's Hardware just posted an interesting review of Ubuntu 10.04 LTS. It includes an expanded set of OS benchmarks that they also performed on the previous LTS release (8.04), to see just how much the mainstream Linux distro has progressed in two years."

cancel ×

164 comments

Sorry! There are no comments related to the filter you selected.

Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx (5, Funny)

Yvan256 (722131) | more than 4 years ago | (#32351944)

Better than the previous version: Ubuntu 10.03 Irrational Lynx

Re:Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx (0, Redundant)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32351978)

wasn't the previous LTS release called "Hardly Heroin"?

Re:Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx (0, Redundant)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32352088)

No, I'm pretty sure it was called "Hairy Hardon".

Re:Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx (0, Redundant)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32354054)

I can't wait for Ubuntu 10.10 Melodramatic Mudkip

Next release will be awesome. (0, Redundant)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32353988)

Can't wait for MASTURBATING MONKEY!

Though I hear that after the Z release, they will use human codenames starting at A again. My suggestion for the first one: Arrogant Asshole, followed by Bumbling Bastard, Conniving Cunt and Dastardly Dick.

Maybe the most irritating thing (2, Informative)

mrwolf007 (1116997) | more than 4 years ago | (#32356546)

is having the buttons on the left.
To fix that:
open console or press ALT-F2
type "gconf-editor"
go to "apps->metacity->general"
edit the key "button_layout" to "menu:minimize,maximize,close"
No longer get nerved by the changed layout.

FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (-1, Troll)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32351988)

As I understand it, the final verdict of the review is that it really hasn't improved that much. The speed isn't that different, the apps are virtually the same as with the past few releases (since GNOME has stagnated pretty badly lately), the brown theme is still horrid, and it doesn't even fix that many bugs.

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (4, Informative)

h4rr4r (612664) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352010)

They totally changed the theme, lots of bugs closed, many apps have been changed, in short you have no idea what you are talking about.

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (4, Informative)

Lumpy (12016) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353016)

Other big bugs exist.

GUI browsing of SMB networks is still borked out of the box. Cups fails when doing an upgrade from 9.10 to 10.04 you haveto force a --reinstall of cups to fix it.

Several other things as well.

It's better, but still has some serious show stoppers for non linux guru people. My wife likes it as her only OS but only because I fixed SMB browsing and the Cups problem.

Dont get me wrong, I think it's far more stable than Windows 7, but it's not perfect and there are big enough "oopsies" that they need to fix them and release 10.04.1 right away.

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (1)

h4rr4r (612664) | more than 4 years ago | (#32355050)

I totally agree, I was only responding to the parent who claimed no major bug fixes occurred.

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32353392)

They? Canonical is not so upstream friendly when it comes to Linux OS (== kernel) or it ecosystem. Canonical neither does support upstream so well when it comes the desktop use.

Correct me, but it looked like you did not mean with "they" the upstream who actually _developes_ the software what Canonical _just use_ for Ubuntu. "They" (== the upstream) has done lots of things in first place correctly. Canonical has just ruined lots of things trying to be king of the hill, and failed on it.

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=3385088017824733336# [google.com]

Canonical is for Linux like Microsoft is for competitors....

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (0, Offtopic)

Beelzebud (1361137) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352026)

If this is how you understand it, then you must have some severe cognitive disabilities...

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (0, Troll)

Heywood J. Blaume (858386) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352120)

Why was this modded troll? AC may or may not be demonstrably wrong, but was he trolling?

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (1)

Tubal-Cain (1289912) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352316)

Well, GP said:

As I understand it, the final verdict of the review is that it really hasn't improved that much...

The last paragraphs of the review said:

The bottom line is that this operating system installed flawlessly on all five of our test systems. It also performed quite well, showing both significant and incremental improvements in most areas over the previous Long Term Support release. The stacked feature set, unparalleled ease-of-use, rock-solid stability, and heavy coat of polish make Ubuntu 10.04 LTS Lucid Lynx the most approachable Linux OS to date.

So, it is without an ounce of trepidation that we are unseating the now one year-old Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope and calling Ubuntu 10.04 LTS Lucid Lynx the desktop Linux distro king.

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (1)

darkpixel2k (623900) | more than 4 years ago | (#32355960)

The bottom line is that this operating system installed flawlessly on all five of our test systems

Maybe they should have tried a few real-world scenarios. Maybe upgrading a system that was running 8.04 on a RAID-5 array. ...but that would have skewed their 'ubuntu is awesome' stats.

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (0, Flamebait)

SkyDude (919251) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352474)

Why was this modded troll? AC may or may not be demonstrably wrong, but was he trolling?

No, but that's the inequity of the /. mod system. Free speech is not a right on /.

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (2, Insightful)

moonbender (547943) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352716)

Violation of freedom of speech: deleting posts, which didn't happen. Exercising your freedom of ignoring other people's speech: browsing at +2.

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (2, Interesting)

darkpixel2k (623900) | more than 4 years ago | (#32356000)

Violation of freedom of speech: deleting posts, which didn't happen. Exercising your freedom of ignoring other people's speech: browsing at +2.

Deleting posts != free speech violation.

You have the right to free speech. You don't have a right to post on Slashdot--a network owned by someone else, and more than you'd have the right to spray paint a message on your neighbors house. It wouldn't be a violation if he repainted his house. If you want free speech on the web, go buy your own domain name, load your own discussion or blog software onto your own server.

That's what I do. Of course my free speech will last up until approximately 5 requests a second, then my old POS server will catch on fire.

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32353880)

He's obviously trolling because 10.04 moved away from a brown theme to a stupid black and eggplant purple theme.

I want the brown back. It was distinctive.

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (1)

Runaway1956 (1322357) | more than 4 years ago | (#32356246)

So, install a brown theme, you dipstick. You need not even be a guru. System > preference > appearance > get more themes online If that is to difficult for you, then you're not even running a Linux distro, you're just a troll.

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (1)

retchdog (1319261) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352506)

What do you mean? Sound magically works again, and stopped fading out into static after 10 seconds of use.

On the downside, there is now no obvious way to get a panel volume control applet. (sigh) At least I'm ahead on average!

volume control (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32352664)

What are you missing again? I have a panel volume control applet that installed by default under 10.4/gnome. Staring at it. Note: I did a net upgrade, not a wipe and reinstall.

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32353128)

On the downside, there is now no obvious way to get a panel volume control applet.

Weird, mine came pre-installed.

Try adding gnome-volume-control-applet to your startup applications.

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (1)

retchdog (1319261) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353954)

OK that did the trick. It doesn't show up anymore in the "add to panel" menu which threw me.

Thanks.

Re:FINAL VERDICT: Not much has improved. (1)

darkpixel2k (623900) | more than 4 years ago | (#32356008)

What do you mean? Sound magically works again, and stopped fading out into static after 10 seconds of use.

On the downside, there is now no obvious way to get a panel volume control applet. (sigh) At least I'm ahead on average!

Try siv (or maybe it's 'pysiv'). That's what I use--works well. Simple slider bar that floats on top of everything else so I can easily change the volume while watching videos.

Lucid Lynx (1)

oldhack (1037484) | more than 4 years ago | (#32351994)

For a moment I thought it's a GUIfied lynx. :P

Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (4, Interesting)

advocate_one (662832) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352030)

is what matters to me... has anybody done reviewed that? all the reviews I've seen have been fresh installs...

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (1)

h4rr4r (612664) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352076)

I upgraded from the last lts all the way up, but I did it as they come out. It worked for me. Mind you I was running Lucid alpha, I like to stay up to date.

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (4, Interesting)

Jeffrey Baker (6191) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352132)

That is a recipe for tragedy. The operating system itself upgrades perfectly well, but the GConf schemas are subtly incompatible and the GNOME people couldn't care less about solving this problem. If you're going from Hardy to Lucid I highly recommend a nuke-and-pave install and copy your homedir from a backup, without any of the dotfiles.

I had a great deal of mysterious behavior on my laptop that was upgraded to every Ubuntu release since Hardy, and all of that stuff disappeared when I reinstalled and got rid of all my dotfiles.

I do something similar... (2, Interesting)

ebbomega (410207) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352352)

But it's a little bit in-between.

I do a fresh install, but maintain my /home partition as-is. I make my regular username my default root-accessible (via gksu/sudo) one, but then once I've installed, I create a new user named after the release (hardy, jaunty, lucid, etc.). Then, I log into my default account. Using the icons on my desktop, I then install my non-standard apps (audacity, gimp, vlc, easytag, nicotine, etc.).

Once I've basically got my computer up to where I was before, then I log into my version-specific account which creates a fresh profile, and I start to check out the differences - themes, feature updates, new defaults - for all my apps I regularly use. If I see anything I like, I hop over to my default profile and adjust. If I see anything I don't, then I just don't bother changing my current settings.

Has worked fantastic for my last 3 upgrades (please note that I never go with mid-release upgrades.... while the .04 series almost always include a ton of improvements, I find more often than not the .10 upgrades will break at least one thing).

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (2, Funny)

advocate_one (662832) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352418)

oh dear... shades of the fun I had going from KDE 1.2 to KDE 2... I had to create a new user account and copy the config files across from there before KDE would load properly for me in my account... that was back going from Mandrake 7.2 to 8.0... oh happy days... praying the monitor detect wouldn't fry the monitor when setting up X.

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (1)

fahrbot-bot (874524) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352462)

I upgraded one desktop system from Jaunty -> Karmic -> Lucid in a single sitting without any issues -- though I then manually uninstalled all the social-media crap than comes with Lucid. That aside, everything went well.

However, I have another system running Hardy, as my MythTV system, that I'm hesitant to upgrade as the "do-release-upgrade" program wants to install all the "recommended" software, meaning 850 more packages that I don't want or need (like GNOME), even with the "-m server" option. I've considered manually updating my apt sources and doing an apt dist-upgrade, but have read "bad things" about that approach. I'm loath to do a fresh installation. At the moment I following the mantra: "if it ain't broke, don't fix it"

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (1)

antdude (79039) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352470)

Yep, big upgrades suck. I did that a few years ago with Ubuntu. I don't remember what versions either. I rebooted, and it hung. :(

I use Debian, and I can do upgrade parts. Even dist-upgrade work.

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (1)

alexhs (877055) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352862)

You don't need to go that far.

You can simply remove your .gconf directory after the installation (of course, you will need to use the text console, or another window manager that handles updates more gracefully).

I personnally remove .gconf* .gnome* .gtk*, just to be sure.

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32353812)

I generally quite agree with you. However I've upgraded Jaunty > Karmic > Lucid without trouble on two boxes. Possibly Ubuntu is finally getting the hang of the upgrade method, so like the OP I'd like to hear how well the LTS > LTS upgrade is going.

[Minor note Karmic > Lucid took _forever_, compared to the Jaunty > Karmic upgrade. If anyone is thinking it's about time they did a nuke'n'pave, then I recommend doing it for Lucid just because you'll be back online much sooner.)

...or you could just use 'gnome-cleanup'. (2, Informative)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32355280)

There's a tool for this; it's called 'gnome-cleanup':

DESCRIPTION

          gnome-cleanup erases all GNOME user preferences, returning
          the user to the default look and feel. This can be used to
          undo undesired preference settings, or to correct the desk-
          top if the preferences become corrupt. The GNOME preference
          files are automatically recreated the next time the user
          logs into a GNOME session. By default this program erases
          the configuration files for the user running the command.

In this case, it may not do exactly what you need, but in my experience it does the trick 99% of the time.

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32352212)

I just spent the morning upgrading from 9.04 to 10.04. Naively, I responded incorrectly to where GRUB should install. The upshot was my system wouldn't boot. Had to revert to a previous live CD of 9.04, re-install IT, which installed over the top of 10.04, with a good GRUB, then applied updates as recommended. The result was a running 10.04 system with all my 9.04 settings preserved. Also, I'm about a half day older with nothing to show for it except a couple of additional gray hairs.

Why in HELL did the original upgrade mess up a perfectly good, ahem - at least functional - GRUB (2) config? Why in HELL would it assume anyone would want to change? And why in HELL does the "help message" about choosing where to write GRUB assume the list of choices means a damn thing to someone other than a sysadmin?

GRUB 2: NOT READY FOR PRIME TIME!

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (1)

h4rr4r (612664) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352642)

If you do not understand what you are doing maybe you should learn a little about what you are doing first?

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32352744)

And this is why this year isn't the year of the linux desktop.

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (2, Insightful)

Runaway1956 (1322357) | more than 4 years ago | (#32356408)

Yes, you are perfectly correct. An operating system that doesn't hold the hands of the incompetent will never earn any market share. Kinda like manual transmissions - if it can't do all the work for the mindless zombie, it won't sell.

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (1)

khellendros1984 (792761) | more than 4 years ago | (#32355448)

Something with the aim of user friendliness (like Ubuntu) shouldn't require an in-depth knowledge of the Linux/x86 boot methods. It ought to "just work". If it doesn't, then the upgrade routine isn't reading for release, and that section of the upgrade should never have been attempted. There should be a way for a power-user to force the upgrade, but it shouldn't be presented to a regular user during the "easy" upgrade process.

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (2, Informative)

HBoar (1642149) | more than 4 years ago | (#32355806)

Or just let the installer choose for itself. There is no reason why you have to manually choose where to install anything in *buntu now.

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (1)

Runaway1956 (1322357) | more than 4 years ago | (#32356372)

You need to familiarize yourself with Grub2 and the Grub2 boot disk. All that you had to do was to reinstall Grub2. Please, let me draw your attention to the fact that I said Grub2, and I did not say Grub. There is a difference. Beginning with Karmic, Ubuntu uses Grub2. No need to nuke an installation because you put the boot loader in the wrong place.

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (1)

AlbertinaJane (978419) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352290)

I did. It failed so nice :) But it's a bliss to reinstall and then put /home and /etc stuff back to its place.

You can't get to there, from here (1)

petes_PoV (912422) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352624)

Yes, this is something that really should be a central part of the review. The only possible reason (apart from scoffing at how crude and unevolved the older version is) for comparing Ubuntu 10 with 8.04 is to quantify the benefits of migration. Since it appears to be impossible (without a backup, wipe, virgin install and then days spent rebuilding all your customisations and apps and settings) there should at least be a ote to that effect.

Since the only major performance improvement is from going EXT3 - EXT4, there's no point in even trying an "in place" upgrade. It's a gaping hole in Ubuntu's release and something you'd'a hoped someone would have considered. I wonder why they forget about us 8.04 users?

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (1)

MrNiceguy_KS (800771) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352756)

I did an in-place upgrade of the Netbook Remix from 9.10 to 10.4. Didn't have a single problem. This was on a 9" Acer Aspire One 150

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (3, Informative)

Lumpy (12016) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353034)

Yes.

Cupsd will utterly fail.

you need to re-issue....

sudo apt-get install --reinstall cups

to get it working again.

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (1)

Vancorps (746090) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353504)

I didn't have this problem, prior to the upgrade I had trouble printing PDFs too, it would print one page every five minutes, boy was that annoying, not on 10.04 it just works. I did have to reinstall the printer however.

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32353266)

Yes. Short conclusion: remove the flash player package before upgrading, or you'll get a broken packages, and the cleaning up stage of the upgrade will fail.
The system seems to work okay, but the package manager is confused.

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32353304)

Worked great for me... on a server install

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (1)

mindbrane (1548037) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353632)

Last Saturday I was really bored and got around to updating my acer Aspire One N270, netbook running 9.10. I was watching the upgrades when I noticed the Ubuntu 10.04 install button, so, bored, I did what my dad would do and clicked on it. It took 5 hours to complete and so far I've had only the one painful issue. Mauve, really mauvy purple with white shinny highlights. What's next? brightly coloured ponies and unicorns? I run a lot of stuff on my little netbook and so far so good. Maybe Ubuntu has become the, for now, ultimate net OS. just say'n.

Although it wasn't an 8.04 LTS to 10.04 LTS upgrade it went well and runs well. Long may it run.

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (1)

sideshow (99249) | more than 4 years ago | (#32354062)

I did this with no problems. However, I did it on a "server" type machine so I didn't have to worry about X, GNOME, etc.

Re:Upgrading in place from the previous LTS? (1)

Runaway1956 (1322357) | more than 4 years ago | (#32356294)

I upgraded, using the Alternative install CD. There were a couple hiccups - the biggest of which is that my Slickness Black theme is somewhat borked. I don't need or want a "colorful" desktop, since I'm colorblind. Purple? That's my very last choice of a color scheme - can't tell purple from violet from lavender, or any other blue-red blend. But, the system works fine. I was surprised that the upgrade downloaded a few hundred meg of data during upgrade, despite the fact that the CD image was mounted, but, ehhh. A few hours (on my extremely slow DSL) and it was over.

Hiring at HP (-1, Offtopic)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32352080)

Need someone for my team--actually it will be teleworking so can be anywhere in the United States. Server software for long-term file storage. Linux good, database a plus. Email scybert@binkmail.com--thanks.

A solid review (4, Insightful)

Jeffrey Baker (6191) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352106)

I never read Tom's any more, but maybe I'll start. I appreciate that they tracked down the cause of a performance regression between Hardy and Lucid. The only other site that routinely benchmarks Linux distributions is Phoronix, and those guys are prone to just throwing weird results out there with no explanation. The number of inexplicable, unrepeatable benchmark results posted over at Phoronix is huge and ever-growing. This benchmark from Tom's is much more useful.

Re:A solid review (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32355030)

I upgraded from Karmic and it was all good except for thunderbird 3. That made the whole system unusable every time I started it up. Fortunately I was able to downgrade back to the thunderbird 2 package from karmic and everything is running superbly now.

Re:A solid review (1)

somenickname (1270442) | more than 4 years ago | (#32355062)

Phoronix is great for information and their benchmark suite is excellent but, I agree that their benchmark results have to be taken with a grain of salt. I actually have a feeling that the reason their benchmark results are so dubious is actually *because* they have such an easy, automated benchmark suite. They just run the benchmarks, it generates a webpage and they annotate it. Some of my specific gripes with their benchmark results are:

1) Declaring a winner on very small margins. Unless you are actively optimizing software on a completely quiescent box, a 1% difference in average performance doesn't make something faster. You chalk that up to noise and just call it a draw.
2) Declaring a winner on baffling results. When you see a number that you don't expect, you don't just say, "Odd. That's really slow." You investigate and find the cause of the odd results and fix it if possible. Then you post the baffling results if still applicable and the better results like Toms did.
3) Declaring a winner for a limited or useless test. If A is faster than B using a filesize of C, that's interesting if I work with files of size C. If I don't, then that number is meaningless to me. If you are benchmarking for user-grade machines, you have to find the subset of the dataset that is relevant and test it's min/max/average/medium.

I probably have more gripes but, that's the gist of it. I read phoronix daily but, I always feel like their benchmarks and comments on the benchmarks do an injustice to whatever things they are trying to compare. The Toms benchmark was a bit better but, rarely have I seen online benchmarks not do #1.

It's working quite well under VirtualBox (2, Informative)

Virtucon (127420) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352136)

I have four Guest Instances of 10.04 running alongside 9.10 under VirtualBox 3.2, no problems to report. You can see the difference especially in responsiveness vs. 9.10 in terms of app startup, system shutdown/startup and the GUI is definitely more polished. I did like the old "Human" motif better with 9.10 but for what I'm using it for, it's been solid.

Linux Mint derivative (1)

rwa2 (4391) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352138)

I'll wait until Linux Mint [linuxmint.com] makes a release based on ubuntu:

I've been recommending it to friends as a nicer, friendlier, greener (yes, it's also Irish) Ubuntu that is not shy about providing support for proprietary video drivers and Adobe flash out of the box.

mint green > aubergine

I still run Debian testing on my primary box, though.

Re:Linux Mint derivative (1)

CannonballHead (842625) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352182)

I have to agree that Mint is a pretty easy to use distro. I had no idea the founder was Irish. :)

Re:Linux Mint derivative (2, Informative)

rwa2 (4391) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352188)

Ha, I didn't have to wait long... Linux Mint 9 (based on Ubuntu 10.04) came out of beta last week. And I've still been installing new machines with version 8 since then :-P

Well, thanks for the reminder!

lolwut (-1, Troll)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32353278)

that is not shy about providing support for proprietary video drivers and Adobe flash out of the box.

So it's a *buntu clone for those who like to take it up the ass?

Reset Gnome (4, Interesting)

Das Auge (597142) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352200)

I did an upgrade and had almost no problems. I did have to re-config grub2 to dual-boot into Windows-7.

After a couple of weeks, I did something that made my bottom panel disappear. I couldn't get it back, so I deleted my .gnome and .gnome2 folders. Holy cow, did that make a difference. The windows became so much more responsive and features that I didn't have, appeared (I can't remember what they are off the top of my head). So if you are having any problems with GNOME, delete those folders and enjoy. Keep in mind that you'll need to reset all GNOME-related settings such as the desktop picture, panels, and such.

Re:Reset Gnome (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32352566)

After upgrading, both my panels disappeared, but only for the other accounts on the machine. I can killall gnome-panel and get them to come back, but that's not exactly a fix. I've deleted all .gnome* folders and nothing changed. The only bugs I can find in Launchpad say FIXED. This isn't the behavior I expect from an LTS release.

Also (2, Informative)

Das Auge (597142) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352622)

Then also try deleting your .gconf .gconfd .metacity folders.

Re:Also (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32353090)

That was it! Strange how that isn't even suggested in bugs or on the forums. Thanks a bunch!

Last Advice (2, Interesting)

Das Auge (597142) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353250)

Glad to help!

My last bit of advice is to watch the video on YouTube from gotbletu [youtube.com] . He has tons of Ubuntu how-to videos. He's slightly profane, but very informative.

Intel 3D performance (1)

wrook (134116) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352226)

Given the recent work on the integrated Intel graphics drivers it would have been nice to see some benchmarks. My impression is that it is better, but it would be nice to have some numbers.

test until it makes sense. (1)

gandhi_2 (1108023) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352252)

i like how they just fucked with it until the unigine tropics benchmark finally made sense.

like the average person is going to know anything of the nvidia driver version and tweaking the compiz fusion config.

Re:test until it makes sense. (1)

oatworm (969674) | more than 4 years ago | (#32355378)

Right, which is why they did it. The average person will see that it's slower, grumble in frustration, and walk away. Tom's Hardware, on the other hand, went the extra mile, dug into the bits, figured out what the problem wasn't (Nvidia driver), figured out what the problem was (Compiz), then explained how they fixed it.

Re:test until it makes sense. (1)

gandhi_2 (1108023) | more than 4 years ago | (#32355478)

the antithesis of the "out of the box" experience test.

if 8.04 had been given a thorough optimization, it would have been faster too.

Hope they fixed sound (pulseaudio). (1, Informative)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32352276)

On my laptop the headphone jack sense was broken in 9.04 (jaunty) in various ways -- the internal speakers wouldn't mute when the headphones were plugged in or sometimes the internal speakers would go from muted to on after listening with headphones for ~10-20 minutes. IIRC from the help forums, there was a problem with how the developers built the package. I couldn't be bothered to try compiling the sound system myself since I could get by not needing realiable sound. Anyway, I'm looking forward to trying a live CD version of Lynx.

Intel Video Finally Working Well (3, Interesting)

SlashdotOgre (739181) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352374)

For the last several releases, Ubuntu has dealt very poorly with Intel video cards. Now to be fair, this isn't entirely their fault; they were impacted by the switch to DRI2, GEM, Modesetting, etc. However they haven't handled it gracefully. I have three systems -- HTPC (Dell Studio Hybrid), laptop (Lenovo SL400), and a netbook (Acer Aspire One) -- that use the i915 driver, and both 9.04 and 9.10 were horrible (no 3D acceleration, poor 2D performance, etc.). In fact 9.10 (and possibly 9.04) required me to pass a kernel parameter to disable modesetting (i915.modeset=0) to even get to a GUI to install.

I realize there were workarounds and hacks, to get reasonable performance from the Intel cards with the previous two releases, but nothing I found seemed simple or fully addressed the issue. This was largely due to some of the fixes requiring newer kernels and since Ubuntu isn't a rolling release distro, that would make fixing things much more difficult. My personal laptop (T400, also with a i915 video card) runs Gentoo, and I had fixed all the Intel video issues several months earlier.

Fortunately 10.04 seems to have gotten everything back to working well again, and hopefully all the changes will be worth it in the future.

Re:Intel Video Finally Working Well (1)

sleepy_sanchez (1301981) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353042)

I still get random X window system crashes on lucid lynx. I remember them being related to intel driver(i915). And I didn't have them on previous releases.

Re:Intel Video Finally Working Well (1)

Jeffrey Baker (6191) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353840)

Actually there were some last-minute commits that screwed up those of us with Intel "Ironlake" graphics. Users of the ThinkPad X201 unfortunately need to pass kernel parameters to the live cd and must patch their kernels to make the installed system work.

Re:Intel Video Finally Working Well (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32353860)

I'm typing from 10.04. It's great. I haven't been using it for very long but from what I can see, in every department, it blows MAC OSX, and Windows 7 out of water.

Insanely impressed with this release. (5, Informative)

ebbomega (410207) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352430)

#1 feature that has me blown away: full iPod Touch/iPhone support in Rhythmbox, without jailbreaking. Seriously, this was the one thing that kept me from buying an iPod touch for so long... I eventually decided to just bite the bullet and find _SOME_ fix that works... ultimately going with just using iTunes within Virtualbox. But then I hooked up my iTouch after upgrading to Lucid and was about to go launch Virtualbox and test that was still working fine... but saw my iTouch, with its designated name, listed in Rhythmbox....

I'm sitting there going, "No.... they didn't...." so I try to drag one of the songs in my library over to my iPod.... and boosh! They did!

Only problem I found though was that when I moved a couple tracks over that had "Unknown" as album title, it actually made everything else with "Unknown" as the album title inaccessible on the iPod. seems though this only has to do with stuff that was added via iTunes... so if I remove the song and then re-add it in rhythmbox, it's perfectly fine.

It's a bit of a weird bug, but easily worked past, and now means that I no longer need to keep going into Windows/iTunes to load stuff onto my iPod. Great jerb!

Also, while I'm not a _huge_ fan of the new default theme (window control buttons on the right pls) I did end up picking one of the new themes that suited my tastes, and I honestly am not looking back at all. I keep saying this every time I upgrade, but best linux yet.

Re:Insanely impressed with this release. (1)

MBGMorden (803437) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353232)

I still have a problem with this. While RythmBox supports copying files to/from the iPod just fine in this release, it doesn't have a sync function. If you want to move a file from the computer to the iPod, or vice versa, then it's a drag and drop afair.

Better than nothing, but I still prefer being able to plug in the iPod before I jump in the shower and have all my music purchases from the night before as well as any new podcasts transferred over before I dash out the door for work.

That feature alone is why I'm running Windows XP via VirtualBox in seamless mode, solely to run iTunes.

I'm hoping that when I upgrade my phone to something Android based later this year I can dump that (as some other Linux players, like Banshee, do support syncing, but don't support the newest iPods).

Re:Insanely impressed with this release. (1)

SEAL (88488) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353310)

window control buttons on the right pls

gconf-editor
apps->metacity->general
button_layout=:maximize,minimize,close

Re:Insanely impressed with this release. (1)

SEAL (88488) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353372)

er sorry, make that :minimize,maximize,close

And then log out/in or restart X or whatever.

Re:Insanely impressed with this release. (2, Insightful)

SwedishPenguin (1035756) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353846)

I don't see why Gnome must necessarily hide this sort of stuff in an obscure gconf setting. It's almost like Microsoft and the obscure registry settings.
In KDE, you right-click the title bar->configure window behavior->windows->buttons, and you can drag all the standard buttons and a few extra (sticky button, on top button, keeb below button, etc.) around the bar.

Re:Insanely impressed with this release. (1)

SEAL (88488) | more than 4 years ago | (#32354010)

Agreed. Also if they're going to arbitrarily change something like this, after many many releases with it on the other side, they should present a dialog to let the user configure it during installation / upgrade.

I experienced many bugs in 10.04 (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32352480)

I have noticed many small bugs on Ubuntu 10.04, mostly dealing with compiz with dual monitors. I was able to fix every gotcha but once again I had to go to the Internet about 20 different times to get the system just right.

Lynx Browser (0, Offtopic)

c0d3r (156687) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352482)

Last time i checked, gmail is the only major web site that works with Lynx. I make all my AJAX web applications Lynx compatible, and you should too. Any word on when lynx is going to support Java applets or Flash swfs? I can't wait until they release Duke Nukem Forever.

Re:Lynx Browser (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32354256)

Java is supported you just have to install it and there is a workaround using mozplugger and wine to get shockwave files running.

Very nice release (1)

interval1066 (668936) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352490)

In general, and for me, Canonical has released the best version yet. Hopefully it will continue to just get better.

Hey (2, Informative)

mewshi_nya (1394329) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352494)

I've noticed it to be running a little faster than 9.10 did, on my Lenovo IdeaPad S10... so... looks good :) And this is with all the bells and whistles turned on.

My experiences... (1)

CFBMoo1 (157453) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352802)

Netbook Remix has been running like a dream since I upgrade to 10.4lts on my EEE 1000 40G.

Ubuntu 32bit 10.4 has been running like a champ on my fun Atom desktop PC.

Went Back to 9.04 (1, Interesting)

RiffRaff06078 (1297983) | more than 4 years ago | (#32352980)

I will give 10.04 another shot at some point in the future, this time with a fresh install rather than an upgrade, but I ran into so many bugs, crashes, and lack of compatibility that I switched back to 9.04. I am a huge fan of Ubuntu, and I hope this was just an upgrade glitch, but for now, 10.04 is on my back burner.

I like it. However.. (1)

arndawg (1468629) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353046)

It's noticeably slower on my old laptop (512mb ram). Was originally a 9.04 -> 9.10 and now 10.04. I recommend at least 1 gig if you're going to try this.

It's a nice o/s (0, Flamebait)

EmagGeek (574360) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353222)

But, if by "made progress" they mean "slowed down," then I'd say it has progressed tremendously since 8.04.

Everything is relative (1)

RomulusNR (29439) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353414)

It beats the hell out of XP and that's good enough for me. Thank you, Ubuntu, you've made two aging/underpowered machines suddenly useful again.

I use the Kubuntu 10.04 version instead (5, Interesting)

Rick17JJ (744063) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353462)

I use Kubuntu 10.04 which is the KDE version of Ubuntu 10.04. I installed it last week and it seems to be working perfectly. I chose the alternate install version of the AMD 64 version of Kubuntu 10.04. As most of you probably already know, Ubuntu uses the Gnome desktop environment, whereas Kubuntu uses the KDE desktop environment. With Linux you get several choices in desktop environments.

Being somewhat nervous about upgrading, I kept my old version of Kubuntu 9.10 and installed a fresh clean copy of Kubuntu 10.04 onto a different partition. That way I knew that I could always go back to my older version, if I needed to.

I am one of the few people who insists on using different wallpaper for each of my virtual desktops. After installing Kubuntu 10.04, I had trouble figuring out how to get it to allow me to use different wallpaper for each of my virtual desktops. The way to enable doing that had changed since Kubuntu 9.10. I eventually found how to do that by clicking "Settings," then "System Settings," then "Desktop," then "Multiple Desktops," then checking the box for "different activity for each desktop." After doing that, I went to each virtual desktop and right clicked on a blank portion of the screen and then selected the "Desktop Activity Settings." I chose my favorite wallpaper from there.

I don't care very much what default software they include with Kubuntu, since I know what programs I prefer and can quickly and easily download and install them for free from the official Ubuntu repositories. There are hundreds of free Linux programs available from the official repositories. I prefer to use Synaptic to download those programs, because it is an easy to use point and click front end for apt-get. I have not yet tried using KPackageKit instead, which comes already installed with Kubuntu. When I first installed Kubuntu 10.04, I used apt-get to download the Synaptic package manager, and then used Synaptic to install every other favorite free program of mine.

I have been happily using Linux on the desktop for about 10 years now, but, I am not a computer expert. Kubuntu 10.04 seems to perform quite well on my several year old AMD 64 X2 4200+ computer. Unlike the earlier Kubuntu 9.10, I have not yet found any bugs or other problems with Kubuntu 10.04.

Re:I use the Kubuntu 10.04 version instead (1)

pjt33 (739471) | more than 4 years ago | (#32353586)

I might have to try again. Upgraded from Karmic about a month ago when KDE broke in Karmic and it was still broken for me in Lucid. I'm currently using Gnome and hating it.

Only issues I have noticed that is relaly annoying (1)

brunes69 (86786) | more than 4 years ago | (#32355080)

- NVidia drivers seem to sometimes flicker the screen for some reason. But then I reboot and t goes away. Then the next day it is back. Not sure what is going on with that.

- iwl3945 driver does not resume properly after laptop suspend, about 50% of the time. If you encounter this, you have to do this sequence I have figured out with much experimenting

- rmmod iwl3945
- suspend again
- resume again
- modprobe iwl3945

This seems to reset the card enough to fix the issue.

Upgrade madness (1)

JSG (82708) | more than 4 years ago | (#32355320)

Ho hum another *buntu has turned up. It's version xy.z and it's called "Rancid Racoon" or something.

Cue: "but my feature n doesn't do m" style comments followed by "upstream are wankers" etc etc.

Later we get the "my filesystem was eaten by *buntu xy.z and I hate it"

Followed by "Well I've upgraded from *buntu 0.0000000000001 incrementally to xy.z and it all works beautifully".

Now substitute "*buntu" with any other pre packaged distro's name and this gets boring.

I'm a pretty hardcore Gentoo user and we don't get these sort of announcements. Frankly I'm glad of that. I'm quite happy adding just a bit at a time. I'll grant you that my boot times are not as good as the latest iteration of say *buntu but I'll address that once I care about it.

Dammit, why can't Gentoo and other source based distros get a regular "oooh, ahhhh" mention here! Out of the box I get a far more up to date Linux based experience than any other distro BY FAR.

It does take a while to compile but that is a fair price to pay.

*buntu is out of date already!

Re:Upgrade madness (1)

PBoyUK (1591865) | more than 4 years ago | (#32356576)

I'd suggest that the reason Gentoo isn't mentioned more often around here is the slashdot groupthink predisposition to actually like Linux. If however we were forced to focus too much on Gentoo, and put up with more Gentoo users, it is likely that the backlash would so negatively affect the image of Linux as a whole that it'd fall out of favour, turning slashdot into an MS fanboy website, hence collapsing reality, time and space into a supermassive black hole that consumes the rest of the universe.

At least until said black hole had finished its 'emerge universe', got on with another Big Bang and finally presented us with a command prompt to once again get something useful done. This process may however take many millions of years to complete, ironically similar to setting up a Gentoo system in the first place. Scary thought.

Or even worse, what if God was a Gentoo user, creating the fabric of spacetime with ridiculous and troublesome optimization flags. Dark Matter? Nah. Just a bug from compiling with -O3.

I'll upgrade if they've fixed the bug with OOo (1)

Zaiff Urgulbunger (591514) | more than 4 years ago | (#32355472)

I've done a test install, but I noticed there's a problem with Open Office where if I enable the quickstarter, Ubuntu won't shutdown! I have to right click the quickstarter icon and get it quit that way, and *then* the OS will shutdown.

Also, no uber-important, but the same quickstarter icon has a white background. And before you say, "well that's because the new theme is dark", I currently use 9.10 with the New Wave theme which is also dark.

Feisty Fanboi say: (1)

Drunkulus (920976) | more than 4 years ago | (#32355642)

I heard there was once a text based browser called Lynx! I'd love to try that, is there an emulator to run it?

Wow. (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#32356306)

All the talk of upgrade and server blues [by those that had them] and nobody mentioned Archlinux yet.

Load More Comments
Slashdot Login

Need an Account?

Forgot your password?